Champion Sponsors

Champion Sponsors

ICL Leadership Intensive

What do the CEO of a global Maine-based company, a college art professor, the founder of a growing national engineering firm, a green furniture designer, and over 720 other leaders from numerous Maine organizations have in common? They are graduates of Lift360’s ICL LEADERSHIP INTENSIVE.

Leadership_Intensive_CircleAbout the program:
Lift360’s ICL Leadership Intensive is an experience-based, skill development curriculum for managers and professionals of public, private and nonprofit organizations. The 14-day program spans 8 months from September to April. It includes an Outward Bound component in the beautiful Maine woods. The program also features a community project that implements learned tools and skills in a real issue facing our community.

The ICL Leadership Intensive is led by Lift360 Executive Director Jan Kearce, with guest leaders: Gary Stern, Carol Martin, and Outward Bound staff. This team of coaches, facilitators, and consultants teaches collaborative leadership, problem solving techniques, and complex change leadership. Graduates finish the program with new and highly relevant skills that advance their ability to effectively and significantly lead change in their organization and their communities. By increasing participants’ capacities as leaders and creating a network of skilled leaders, the Lift360 ICL Leadership Intensive strengthens our communities and the fabric of our region.

“To those in an organization without a formal leadership development program, or those with management-level programs only, the Leadership Intensive or Emerging Leaders is a wonderful way to invest in your up and coming people at all levels, or to round out senior level skills. Training and development is one of the most important methods of impacting employee engagement and retention.” –Elizabeth Ross-Holmstrom, Founder of BreakTogether, Xi Class

“I see the Intensive as an opportunity not only for budding leaders who have already established themselves in Maine, but for new employees and new Mainers looking to get quickly networked into their community. Employers: when creating an offer letter for a promising new employee, consider bundling in a predetermined amount that encompasses their salary as well as an allotted amount for professional development and encourage them to apply for the Intensive. It allows not only for high-level leadership training for your new employee, but also the opportunity to very quickly network with other cross-sector Maine leaders.” -Carolyn Nishon, Executive Director of the Portland Symphony Orchestra, Tau Class

Now Accepting Applications for Class #25

Nominate a Candidate!

Program Information Packet — includes session dates and times, tuition information, and more

Online Application – due March 31, 2017. Program runs September 2017 – April 2018.

Learn more about Lift360’s AL CURRAN LEADERSHIP INTENSIVE SCHOLARSHIP FUNDEstablished by Woodard & Curran in Autumn 2014, this fund awards partial scholarships to municipal leaders. To learn more or apply for scholarship, please contact Jan Kearce or call 207-699-4493.

Looking to learn more??

Join us for an evening of connecting and learning at Fore River Brewing Co. in South Portland! Come meet Leadership Intensive alumni, Lift360 staff, and prospective applicants for next year’s program (the 25th year of the ICL Leadership Intensive!). We will have a Lift360 table with program information materials, and alumni will be sharing stories. Please RSVP HERE! Free to attend; cash bar for beverages.


Please see the full list of ICL Leadership Intensive Alumni and a list of their employers.

Lift360 Distinguished Alumni

2001   Robert Hasson, Jr., Superintendent of Schools, MSAD 51
2002   Mark Swann, Preble Street Resource Center
2003   Lucky Hollander, Cumberland County Child Abuse and Neglect Council at Youth Alternatives
2004   Nat Tupper, Yarmouth Town Manager
2005   Mike Dubyak, WEX
2006   Dr. Bud Higgins, Maine Medical Center
2007   Layne Gregory,  Boys to Men
2008   Scott Simons, Scott Simons Architect
2009   Anne Jackson and Rachel Armstrong, Community Volunteers
2010   Bruce Kidman and Tom Rumpf, The Nature Conservancy
2011    Lisa Letourneau, Quality Counts
2012   Meg Baxter, The Mitchell Institute
2013   Jeff Jordan, MRRA
2014   Pious Ali, City Council
2015   Craig Lapine, Cultivating Community
2016   Al Curran, Woodard & Curran
2017   To be announced!